Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

The Darlington Dash

Day 5

Time to go home, and say goodbye to my family here in Yorkshire. Browsing this lovely book, planning future visits. I rather liked this combination with the tartan mug - we do miss you. They do say that Yorkshire is "God's Own Country". Two features I notice around these parts - lots of fords and level crossings.

This was the lull before the storm. We got to the station, to find the local train so delayed due to the weather, that I was possibly going to miss my connection back to Scotland. So, off we sped, making it to Darlington with just 1 minute to spare.

Fond farewells at the station, and a windy, wet journey back to Edinburgh. The train was slower, due to serious flooding all round and snow beside the line. I think I made it home just in time, as the weather deteriorated later in the day, with both west and east coast travel badly affected.

And for the record, I did finish "The Riverman", and have now started Alex Gray's novel "A Small Weeping".


(Backblipped on Thursday 13 Feb. Yorkshire adventures start here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.