Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Visiting Vettriano

I finally made it to the Jack Vettriano Retrospective, a week to go before the show ends. It wasn't too busy mid afternoon. I took time to view all 101 works, and enjoyed watching the various video presentations about his life and inspirations. I had a chuckle at the A.L. Kennedy interview and her observations.

As there is no photography allowed in the exhibition, I thought the advertising outside would do as a reminder. "The Singing Butler" on the left and "Elegy for the Dead Admiral" on the right.

For those still hoping to catch it before it ends on 23 February, there will be late opening until 8 pm from tomorrow 14th, until 23rd (except 20th).

I can't say that I am a fan, but one work stood out for me "Portrait in Black and Pearl". I really liked the textures on the different materials, particularly the ribbon around her hat.

The shop was doing a roaring trade, customers forming a queue for large framed prints. I think it has probably beaten "The Glasgow Boys" show for attendance records.

I've now posted the five entries from my trip to Yorkshire earlier in the week, they start here, if you have time to browse. Quite pleased with the shot of Ripon Cathedral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.