Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Seeing double

I had to go to Chertsey this morning and while I was there I thought I would drive down to the river and take some photos of the flooding. All the houses I passed had sand bags backed up against their doors, many gardens were flooded, and the road to the river was closed with a strong military presence. It made me realise what a national disaster this flooding has been. When I was in the shop I had to go to, I heard one of the sales assistants on the phone to someone saying that they have decided to purposefully flood a certain area which affects about 100 houses, so as to save another larger area from flooding. She was telling the person on the phone to clear out her house as it was one of those that would be flooded, as apparently the insurance only pays out for natural flooding and not flooding caused by man.

This is house at the bottom of my road with a very large puddle in front of it! There was a little sunshine today but the rain is set to return with a vengeance tomorrow.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.