Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

River Carron at Langlees Wood

Decided to explore a bit of the River Carron this afternoon.

A couple of years back (I think) we did a Ramblers walk that took us past The Kelpies (which were still under construction at the time) and along a path by the River Carron and exiting at Larbert. I've been meaning to go back and explore this riverside path a bit more, and finally got round to it this afternoon. Parked the car at Stenhousemuir Sports Centre, walked down to where the Carron Iron Works used to be and joined the footpath. Followed the path by the river eastwards, through the Cobblebrae and Abbotshaugh Community Woodlands, and found myself at The Kelpies in about 45 minutes. Retraced my steps and hoped that the rain and sleet would hold off long enough until I reached the car. They did (just about).

Where the Bainsford Burn enters the Carron, the water had a bluish glow in the late afternoon sun and I thought that would make my photo of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.