Blokko

By Blokko

La Tour Eiffel par Nuit

There were a couple of other shots from this day that I could have used, but I felt that I couldn't do a Paris trip and not include a blip of one of its most famous landmarks.

We got here earlier than expected, which meant a lot of waiting around as we had pre-purchased our tickets to get to the second floor. Not really photo taking weather - we had avoided the rain, but it was cold and blowing a gale. How anyone can think of Paris as being romantic in these climatic conditions is beyond me!

We had timed our visit so that we could do a daylight into to dark viewing of the "City of Light" (as we had done previously when sat atop the Rockerfeller), but the conditions were against us (and there is a lot less to see from the Eiffel Tower than the Rockerfeller, by the way). So we went looking for a café (which was really well timed as it meant we ducked a vicious rainstorm) and came back later to get some night-time shots.

I'd decided to pack my dSLR with a single lens - a 40mm pancake. The lens quality is way beyond that of my zooms, but I felt at times that I was limited by the fixed focal length. I think I'd have got a lot more shots if I'd taken my wide zoom instead, but packing space was at a premium, so compromises were called for.

May look into getting a decent compact or one of those new fangled four thirds format cameras?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.