Snapshots of rural France

By SuzB

Love is for life not just for...

...christmas St Valentine's Day

I wish all of you a Happy St Valentine's day

I am having a 'work in your pyjamas' morning. Hope you're all having a happy day

Yesterday afternoon I had the most fascinating if slightly surreal experience. Whilst in a rural hamlet, I cam across a barn which had lots of models of helicopters and planes on its roof, swinging about in the wind. They were weather vanes and I thought I would stop the car and investigate (with my camera of course!). I was taking pictures of the models and was gently approached by a little friendly dog. Then a woman's voice entered the moment, and I turned to see a little old lady with a headscarf. She said 'do you like the models?' I said 'yes they are amazing!'. She said 'come with me I want to show you something', and took me to her barn, through a corridor and there was this 'musée', a showroom full of wooden models. Her husband, a poultry farmer all his life, and now unfortunately unwell at home (in his late 70s) had been making these models all his life. they are a variety of all sorts of subjects and I felt I had slipped into some sort of parallel universe. It was a unique experience, and within 10 minutes the lady had told me all about her life, family and of course inevitably her and her husband's medical conditions. I would like to return one day. I have put a set of photos (not brilliant shots) on my flickr feed

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.