Mikey88

By Mikey88

A Light Covering

The weather forecast said there might be snow on the higher ground of the moors, so I decided to go and have a look. I parked at the eastern end of Burrator Reservoir and made my way up through the plantation (which you can see in the foreground) towards Leather Tor.

As I got to the edge of the trees, it got very dark and began to snow. It didn't last long, so I carried on up to Devonport Leat and followed that for a bit, where I took the picture above. It wasn't much of a covering and after the clouds cleared it only lasted about an hour. As the sun came out, the light was brilliant and I took lots of pictures. There were interesting cloud formations and some long views down to Plymouth as well as some more close views of the lichen covered oaks and the bare hawthorns and rowans among the boulders on the higher slopes.

On the way down, there was even the chance for some macro shots - I noticed some moss with its fruiting bodies on display - tiny little bright red caps on cups standing on the end of stalks. I'd seen the empty cups before, but never with the red caps on them.

It was a good walk and it was difficult choosing a shot to blip, but in the end I chose this one of the moor with the snow - the way the winter is going, that may be as snowy as it gets. I don't think I'm going to get out to take pictures tomorrow, judging by the weather forecast - it may have to be a shot of the pond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.