KatPrice

By KatPrice

Date Night

Absolutely packed day leading up to date night - Rob isn't around for Valentine's Day and we are stingy students anyway and had a £15 voucher for The Almanack in Kenilworth BEFORE February 13, so we decided to make the most of it.

In the morning I got to interview actress Liza Goddard which was an incredibly scary experience - my first actual celebrity interview! She was absolutely wonderful, however, a really lovely woman.

Then it was down to Milburn House for the second part of the theatre workshop with Guardian arts writer and theatre critic Andrew Dickson. We had all sent in our reviews the previous week for The Tiger Lillies' Lulu. We discussed the play for a while and then gave each other feedback in pairs on our articles, proceeding to re-write a review of Paul Taylor's for different respective publications. We got the Boar! And during this time Andy gave us individual feedback on our reviews. He really seemed to like mine, which surprised me, but then we are all our own worst critic (heh heh).

Rob and I had a lovely evening at The Almanack and really treated ourselves to a proper two-course meal. The staff are so friendly there and the food is fantastic. Straight afterwards we headed back for another Ayckbourn production, Time of my Life, a revival of the 1992 production. Rob quite liked it, unfortunately I wasn't so sure. I found it rather boring, the humour too over the top and dated, and I hated every model of femininity on show, it just didn't work for me. It was still interesting, however, to really examine why I wasn't enjoying it, which I will be writing up. A really enjoyable evening, however, which Rob and I rounded off with watching The Aristocats. He really loves Disney as much as I do!

Except that then we saw THIS and my childhood was ruined forever. Really, Disney!?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.