KatPrice

By KatPrice

Daffodils

I love daffodils. They're such bright, colourful flowers, they remind me of spring, home, and my Grandpa.

Real Ale tonight, such a fantastic evening, as it always is. One of the best nights on campus all year every year. Spent the first half with Photosoc and the latter half with Rob, Ed, Tim, Sam, Scott and Vicky.

Started off with a hog roast for dinner - they do hog roast! Tried some elderflower blonde, which tasted nice at first but I wasn't a huge fan of by the end of just a half pint (good idea to stick with half pints with so much to sample!). Really impressed that they let you sample at Real Ale, actually, so you know what you're buying. Thought I'd start off with the sweeter stuff, moved on to some mango cider which essentially tasted like mango juice, and mead. Mmmm, mead. The mead is always so, so good at Real Ale.

Later moved on to the darker ales and stouts, definitely had the cappuccino stout and that was beautiful, really great flavour. After that I can't remember whether I had the Winter Wonderland or the Oracle, pretty sure it was the Oracle, possibly had both, either way it all tasted damn good. A nice reminder that there is good alcohol in the UK as well as Germany!

Actually didn't bother with the German beers, they only had two and I hadn't heard of either of them, and they were both weißbiers, neither of them particularly good from the sip I had of Karsten's. We had a nice banter about German beer and how all the German beer in the UK is rubbish.

Had a really lovely evening just standing around and chatting to people, and enjoying the alcohol. Germany has really made me appreciate just enjoying drink rather than using it as a means to an end, which we all too often do in the UK. Don't get me wrong, I probably had a tad too much, was quite tipsy when I got back, but it's because I was so busy enjoying all the great alcohol and soaking up the ale-soaked atmosphere! Certainly didn't overdo it like some people would have done. Not worth it in the end. I would much rather stand having a good chat with friends over a good pint of stout, or a nice cocktail, than downing it all at once. I'm such a boring student.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.