Inverness...

Up and away with the lark this morning we were! Road trip!!

We stayed up too late last night and had to pack this morning… talk about changed days!! No lists, no nothing! Winging it I believe it's called!

To Inverness… on the A9… in my Sarah's flash new BMW that had 9 miles on the clock when she picked it up. It's fast and it has heated seats!!

You know what happened next though don't you? 88mph in a 60! Oops! It's not big and it's not clever and we spent the rest of the trip bang on the speed limit! Probably smart that it happened now… and I'm glad I wasn't driving! However, we laughed a lot afterwards. I won't share the conversation, suffice to say we were discussing scenarios for getting away with a speeding ticket! Hahahaha! It made me snort just then thinking about it!

We got to her first appointment in Inverness bang on time… only it wasn't at the business address, we arrived at the guy's house! Hahaha! Another forty miles to go to get to the right place so we were late but we laughed some more. Inverness was freezing… this photo was taken from the car on the way up. It really was as grey as it looks but there was snow.

We stopped for dinner on the way over to Aberdeen and we arrived at Fawlty Towers (that's me being kind!) in the evening. When we checked in Sarah was still in her work clothes, all poshed up in heels and a skirt whereas I looked like I'd just rocked up out of scruffsville in my jeans and Converse. I'm pretty sure the woman at reception made the judgement that I was the butch one! The reception was lovely and I totally thought we'd got a bargain! Oh how wrong… you go through a door and you're transported into something that wouldn't look out of place in a 70's horror movie!

We pretty much crashed by 11pm after we'd hung around in the car park for an hour waiting for a space then had the lift break down on us and narrowly escaped a bump on the head from the randomly placed TV in our room. The hair dryer in the bathroom also looks like something out of the 70s… it's here for your amusement! Round the wrong way for some reason but you get the idea!

We live in a beautiful part of the world and it was actually really nice not to be driving especially given the speeding ticket and be able to really take in the scenery. I'm having snow envy but given the weather round the country I suspect I should learn to keep myself in check.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.