conventgirl

By conventgirl

Help is at hand

This afternoon I was deafened by a roar and looked out of the window to see this Chinook? hovering above my front garden. I went to get the camera and by the time I got back it had landed in the park opposite. I couldn't really see what was happening but I have pieced together the clues and have deduced that it was delivering men and equipment to deal with the flooding about 1/2 a mile away. There were 4 of these trucks and a lot more soldiers round the corner. I know the army have been called in to sandbag the River Kennet which is not much more than a stream most of the time. Yesterday they had closed the road leading to it and there were lots of police and army in the area. I shouldn't think last nights rain did anything to help the situation.
My heart goes out to those people affected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.