Super-G, Super Piper

Our pups ran away to the Olympics today, the Alternative Olympic Games that is... It seems that they've had their noses out of joint over all of the attention the wildlife athletes have been getting. Piper got lucky and found a spot on Team Canine's Alpine Skiing team. Due to injury, there was a slot to fill and Piper just happened to come along at the right time to enter in the Super-G event. This sure was the year for underdogs... the favorites for gold just weren't performing well and this left the door open for the lesser known athletes. Piper gave a podium worthy performance; her speed and moves earned her the gold!

Riley chose a truly alternative Olympic sport... Nerf Football... As luck would have it, Team Canine was one player short. Riley joined the team and caught the winning touchdown! She was so excited to be apart of it all, she couldn't help but to do a victory dance in the end zone. ;)

The girls are back home now, sleeping hard after their Olympic performances... Dreams of competing running through their heads.

After my reporting assignment, Hubs and I tackled the roof. It's been a big year of snow so far and it was really building up above our heads (close to 3 feet deep of compacted hard snow). So, out came the ladder and we crawled onto the roof. I say "we" because I really did try to contribute... but when I sat down for a break, I briefly let go of my shovel... OOPS, it slid right over the edge. :( I decided that my efforts were better spent on the ground, and Hubs continued to work on the roof without me. It's only about 1/4 done, so I'm sure I'll have more chances to help... It's the heaviest, densest snow to move and an ugly job. But I did catch a pretty shot from inside, as the snow fell off the roof over the kitchen window. A few more days and Hubs will probably have the roof cleared. And then comes the fun part... moving all of that snow AWAY from the house. Ugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.