Fantastic!

A few years ago, I went to the cinema to see Pina and loved the film - immensely uplifting. When I heard the Tanztheater Wuppertal were playing 1980 at Sadler's Wells, I jumped at the chance of seeing them.

I don't book to see dance productions, but I'd like to see more. I loved the dancing in 1980, but I would have liked to have seen more. Between various dialogues, the dancers would dance in single file, walking off the stage between the aisles, even up to the circle where Fred and I were. I particularly loved this set piece - fun and joyful. I'm still working out various bits and what they may mean - we're not told, but it could mean something different to each viewer. Fred found it quite melancholic, whereas I found it mostly playful and childlike. The beauty pageant line-up was a highlight, as was the sunbathing scene in a public park. Fred got the giggles when one of the dancers, Lutz Förster, created a ludicrous sunbathing position hidden under two blankets - one blanket covering his top half and another covering his legs; his bare bottom being the only part of him visible. At one point, I wished I was down in the stalls - the dancers were serving cups of tea as part of the production!

Right at the end, there was an almighty whoosh, a bang and lots of white dust fell from above the lighting rig. It wasn't scripted; the wind had got up! Sure enough, on leaving the theatre, there were bits of trees everywhere, and rubbish flying through the air. We caught the Tube and a bus, and managed to climb the hill to the flat. The sound of the wind was frightening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.