Chicken House Roof

On Friday night through until Saturday morning we had very strong winds and torrential rain here. Many places had damage and we were very lucky in that we thought we had escaped completely. We were lucky, but the strength of the wind is very apparent on the small amount of damage that was done. The chicken house roof is very substantial and very well attached, however, the wind lifted the roof and tore the roof hinges and upper frame off of the rest of the house, breaking the rear-most piece of wood along its grain. We only discovered this today, having missed it on a previous look around the garden, so we decided to lift the roof and frame back on. I know I had built this well and that the roof was quite heavy, but was most surprised that the combined effort of Mrs GOG and myself, were unable to lift the lid and frame to the approximately four and a half feet height necessary to relocate them. I guess I will have to call upon the assistance of a couple of heavily built friends to assist me in this activity. Today’s picture is of the chicken house, looking across our flooded garden.

When the roof came off it hit and displaced one of my beehives, fortunately no bees or chickens were in residence at the time, so no creatures were hurt.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.