Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Smiling in the snow

As predicted, we awoke to heavy snow falling and no visibility. We had already decided the night before not to ski, as the boys were tired and wanted to sleep in and with poor visibility it would not be good for skiing. We went for a walk in the snow and I took a few photos, but most of them were ruined by big blobs of snow on the lens. I liked this one of Luke laughing as it is quite a rare sight, as my teenagers do not like smiling at the camera anymore.

I forgot to mention that yesterday at the airport, Bill Nighy, was walking right in front of me but Gavin said I was being embarrassing by wanting to ask for his photo - not fair, as he is one of my favourite Brit actors.

Remember a couple of weeks ago when Thomas had an important audition? He does not want me to make a fuss but for purposes of my journal I must record that it all ended very well and he has been awarded a music scholarship to his next school.

By sheer coincidence two of Thomas' friends from school (and their families) are spending the half term week here as well, so tonight there are 15 of us going out for a pizza. It has snowed non-stop all day and is still snowing now, but Thomas has spent the afternoon playing ice hockey with his friends at the village rink, Gavin is on another long run up the valley getting some altitude training for the marathon, Luke and Adam are working and I am about to settle into my book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.