Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Crown of gold

This delicate golden structure is the stigma of Crocus tommasinianus, also affectionately known as 'tommies'. It was rather a shame that I spent most of the day either preparing for or attending the annual meeting of our local botanical recording group, as the sun shone pretty much all day.

I snatched ten minutes in the garden at lunchtime, and saw the first hoverfly of the year, feeding on the open crocuses, which always seem to reach their peak during half-term. It's face was covered with crocus pollen, which of course is just what the stigma is designed to capture.

Our meeting was very successful, with fifteen attendees, and I'm optimistic that we'll get plenty of recording done over the coming season. I have to say I feel a bit shell-shocked after chairing the meeting, which lasted almost three hours. Fortunately we're having a Chinese takeaway for dinner!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.