Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Rosslyn Revisited

Not a good day.

a). Scottish Power continue to persecute me and know nothing of my account STILL!
b). I spent a long time on the phone this morning being passed from one department to another.
Me: ‘This is a shambles!’
Claire: ‘I completely agree with you, madam,’ before she insisted I ring another department. Which was wrong.
c). JR accidentally put lingonberry jam (instead of tomato sauce) on my fish and chip lunch in Ikea.
d). I waited in the car, in the car park, for hours while JR 'popped back in' to ‘pick up an item’. I was forced to eat the bar of chocolate I was keeping for later.
e). Ms Heffalump upstairs sounded like she was moving furniture around. At 3am.
f). I have consumed about 10,000 calories today, including a bagel with avocado, two ice creams, fish and chips and a bar of chocolate. And the day is not done!

However, on a bright note, we went back to Rosslyn Chapel, as we had spotted that we could get a year’s free pass for one entry fee. I told JR of my intention of getting a photo inside. ‘Oh no, you’re not allowed. There are signs’…

So when we paid I asked about the ‘No Photography’ rule. The ladies at the till said that a while ago, someone was lying on the floor to take a photo of the ceiling, and another visitor tripped over the prone person and sued the chapel!! She agreed that it was a silly rule, and if she was the guide she would let me take a photo.

I asked who was the 4pm guide, but Barbara and Nancy both looked dubious - ‘Oh no, she’ll not let you...’

I told them I’d tell her that Barbara and Nancy at the till said I was allowed, and they feigned panic at being cliped on.

However, it wasn’t busy, and I managed a couple of quick shots. This is of the Apprentice Pillar. It's a great story if you don't know it. There is a very fine additional building with cafe with lovely outdoor seating and view over the Glen, interactive information etc. Definitely worth a few visits. For free.

Good news: Popped upstairs to Ms Heffalump and found out that, at last, the student flat has been carpeted!! This should muffle the stomping around at 4am when she comes in from her barmaid job and decides to re-arrange the furniture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.