Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Scottish Power Saga Day 104

Spent the morning searching for the CEO and names of people on the Scottish Power Board, then searching for their address. They don’t make it easy - these highly paid executives don’t want to be bothered by the general public with their petty complaints!

Fortified by my porridge and coffee, I rang them again. This time I pressed a different button when given a few choices. I got Daniel. I think Daniel is The One. He listened to my complaint, made the right apologetic noises and said he’d put me through to the ‘Home Comfort Team’- they’d deal with it.

NOOOO! Don’t put me through to them, Daniel! Pleeeease.

So he said he’d go off and try himself. He left me on hold with some raucous muzak to entertain me. I didn’t complain. When he came back, he told me he’d discovered that my account is there, but it’s on THE OLD SYSTEM, which the Home Comfort team 'can’t access’…

Why am I on The Old System that not everyone can access, Daniel?’
‘We’ve been upgrading our system for a year or so blah blah….’


He said he’d try a bit more and ring me back, and I said, ‘If you knew how many times I’ve heard that…’

He admitted that the staff are on instructions to have ‘short windows’, and proceeded to explain what that was, in case I thought the office windows were knee high. No, they are not supposed to spend too long with one customer, but should get back to answering phones (ie apoligising profusely, assuring the customer they would look into it, then putting it in the 'too hard' basket). And he admitted that, even for him, there were ‘many brick walls.’ (So a mere customer wouldn't stand a chance.)

He did ring me back. He had spoken to Gail in the Home Comfort Admin Dept who has promised him that she’d ‘look into it’ and contact me. She hadn’t by 4pm this afternoon when I went out.

I have several snaky letters for the Big Wigs ready to post by the end of the week. And of course, once I get the boiler checked, a service I am paying for, I will be changing suppliers.

Popped into town to see the lights in St Andrews Square.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.