Leith Walk Institution

A shop selling darts and televisions. Such an unlikely combination it always seemed to me, but clearly it must work as I remember it being there as long as I have lived in Edinburgh. In fact I bought some darts there when I lived a short walk away on Albert Street and had a dart board up in my hallway. And the sign says the shop was established in 1925, although I don't know if it has always sold the same things. It got a mention in the stage show of Sunshine on Leith. I walked past this afternoon on my way to football - my first Monday night game for months - pretty sure I've not played since we moved house. Not too bad personally, scored one and created a couple more. Trouble was, that was all our team managed, while the others scored 'a lot'. Perhaps the teams weren't as even as they might have been - think our average age was probably at least ten years more than theirs, and it showed in the conditions! Weather was torrential when we were actually playing, although it eased off for the walk home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.