FoundWalking

By FoundWalking

Now but not here

I'm sleeping on a cot. My life is packed away in four cardboard boxes. My desk is an ironing board. And, having no coffee maker, or even a kettle for tea, I lowered myself to going into a donut shop for my caffeine fix.

I hate being late. I arrived at work thirty minutes early and introduced my self as the new guy. For the next hour I sat alone in the training room by myself waiting for the proper authority to indoctrinate me. A manager arrived and informed me that training had been moved to the store across town.

It was 3F as I bundled up and scurried across a parking lot and headed south to the other store. I met Jeff the trainer. I said I was John. Jeff introduced me to two other fellows in the training class. One was Jeff, the other was John. Shouldn't be hard to remember names. I got a fifty percent chance of getting it right.

Mercifully we got out a little early and I bought a coffee maker and a pot for pasta. All is right again. The kitchen was filled with pesto and garlic and olive oil. I found a nice pinot noir. I made a salad and ate like a prince and then collapsed in my chair in ecstasy.

Tomorrow I will find a proper desk so I can set up my computer and process images from my regular camera. Thanks to all for your kind thoughts and encouragement. Hopefully tonight will be the last I peck out on my phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.