TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

Riverside Blues on a Misty Morning

Just in time I woke up from an amazing dream. It was about my old friend L. who turned out to be the only and natural son of Master J. with whom I had worked at the Erasmus University in the 70-ies for seven years. For a moment I started puzzling what that could mean. But I preferred the idea of fresh, hot tea over speculation and interpretation. So standing in front of the window, I saw the thick mist blurring the view of sunrise.

After dressing up warmly and with the taste of tea still on my tongue, I went outside, gladly greeted the Old Oaktree and did my exercise down at his foot. Then, after running up and down some hill streets I took the forest track to visit the little Friedensthaler Brook. The snow had melted away. The brookwaters were streaming abundantly . I felt happy to meet my old Friend the Waterspirit again. The morning light was too dim for a Blipworthy picture. But that doesn’t matter at all, as I was searching and finding my way of reconnecting with the earthbound forestal web of that friendly “Peace-valley” Brook.

Later on down at the Weser Riverside I stayed for a while, wondering and inhaling the frosty air. There I made the misty picture you can see on this page. And from there I followed the way up back home, where Willemien had brought her handful of seeds to the birds. She showed me the picture she had made of an adorable girl: herself in the time you thought to stay forever young.

Now we enjoy the calm and peacefulness of our hillside retreat. We feel serene and I feel thankful even towards that 'learning' relationship with Master J. that broke down in anger. No Masters, No Pupils anymore.. at least for me, you know. As for our dear Mischa and for whom it might concern among You, reading these lines, I wish you all the deep trust and inner strength you need to meet life’s challenges and as Erasmus said: “to keep your standing firmly under storms to come..”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.