Out and About

By LeslieBigos

Ukulele

A house is not a home without a ukulele. At least that's the ethic in my family. Ukulele became a craze in the U.S. about the time Hawaii became a state. My dad's female cousin was a professional ukulele player back then, playing with a band in clubs. My Dad still owns here ukulele.

My Dad has played the ukulele since childhood and over the years, as a public school teacher, has taught literally hundreds of children how to play. Some of his former students are now musicians.

I played ukulele as a child but haven't picked up the instrument in a while. My son Vincent, who is a professional guitarist, hast lately picked up the instrument. People are charmed when he sings along with this little instrument.

I love the simplicity of the instrument and the smile it evokes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.