stujphoto

By stujphoto

Water Droplet

On a rainy afternoon I thought my best chance of a blip would be a water droplet which I create in the safe confines of our garage. I changed my lighting set up a bit with one of my speedlites (Canon flash units) focus slightly behind the projected droplets facing forward and the slave unit turned to the rear lighting up the background. This has given me far more saturated colours in the water. I would have liked to have presented you with a corona but have been unsuccessful in repeating earlier triumphs in this area as my second and subsequent droplets are tending to end up as a stream of water using the hand operated plastic pipettes that I rely on. I desperately crave a Time Machine which gives you droplets of whatever size you want and a carefully timed release which synchs with the your flash units but don’t think I can really justify the expenditure.

Instead of a perfectly shaped plume and droplet I’ve chosen one which is already on the process of collapsing (hence the kink) as it was a lovely long plume with really interesting reflections in it. Definitely worth seeing LARGE. The down side to this is the fact that the droplet at the top is outside the drop zone, as it were, with the black background of the backing tray showing. The curved coloured water line occurs as a result of the water ripples as they reach the side of the dish.
Apologies for the techy talk but I know some of you are interested

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.