Museum of Scotland

On a drizzly afternoon I decided to go to Chambers Street Museum in search of a blip., seeing how it would work out if I used a monopod and a wide angle lens in the museum. Unfortunately as it was half term holiday the place was chock full of families seeking ways to amuse their children in the miserable weather. However, if you climbed to the upper floors the crowds rapidly diminished. It’s the first time I have been to the museum since the renovation has been completed on the top floor – a lot less exhibits to weary you and more interactivity. However, I was not in search of edification but in search of a blip. Light levels in the exhibits have been considerably diminished presumably to help to preserve the objects but I found I was able to shoot at 1/10th of a second with the added stability of the monopod .

I chanced upon some personal history as there was a circuit board from the Leo III computer in one of the display cabinets. Leos I, II and III were the first computers in the UK and they were operated by J. Lyons and Co. I worked in the Operational Research Department of Joe Lyons at Hammersmith in 1964 and they were using Leo III at that time to forecast sales and distribution of ice cream as it was such a volatile market, which was so dependent on the weather. It seemed a slightly weird that a bit of my occupational past was now in the museum. The shot of the circuit board is not exactly pictorial so I have included in my portfolio HERE. It seems amazing that now all this computing power is contain in my iPod which was in my top pocket.

I have instead gone for the classic view of the beautiful interior architecture of the museum which actually benefitted from the drab weather as you were not having to combat any contrast between the two sides of the interior. I like the way the people are reduced to Lowry style matchstick figures

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.