A lovely time

Got home after a long day to find the boys being boys, and that they had almost worn out Granny S' tolerance. Giggling, and shoving, and sitting on top of the other, and more giggling. Until the wails as someone is "hurt". Minimal to no damage to anything other than feelings.

Following one of these Mr H retired to the deck and lay on the recliner while Young L started looking for what new mayhem he could create. Or at least that was what I thought. He didn't want to read, play with lego, or ....

Then I asked shall I get a book and read to you? "NO." pause "Yes please". Couldn't tell me what sort of book. Which was when I spotted my birthday present for last year from S.

Started out by asking him (all of six years and two months old) if he could read the cover. Confidently he read the first word, and readily acknowledged that he didn't know what it means; so I told him. He then read the rest of the title, needing to be told the meaning only of heritage. He understood that the names of the photographer and the writer of the text were at the bottom.

We then looked through this book of photographs, and descriptions, of abandoned buildings. Photographs which had been taken over a ten year period from 2002. The book was published in 2012.

Intermittently he would read the words about a particular place. He was fascinated and repelled in equal measure by the photos of the abandoned Veterinary School, with its specimens jars. He took great delight in telling Mr H about the "gross" one which had a pig's head and trotters; possibly foot and mouth disease (so I said). He liked that.

We had a really lovely time until his mother arrived to collect the boys and take them home.

This is a response to Booky's Reader's World challenge. A variation, in that I took the photo of the book on the chaise where we had sat to read it, but with neither he nor me in the photo.

Readers Young L and Waipushrink
Location The apartment
Book Forbidden Places
Refreshment I'm now enjoying a Mangawhai red

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.