Kawau Bay

I almost had a problem at the office today. I was anticipating a leisurely start when I suddenly realised that I had another person to see. One whose appointment was not in the calendar. The great advantage of a big paper appointment diary was that it was always there and unless I had no pens (unheard of) I could always enter the new appointments. The big disadvantage of using an electronic diary is if the battery in the laptop runs out, and I left the charger at home, memory is required to enter it later. Memory failed; until almost too late. I was there in time and all was okay.

An interesting diagnostic and treatment dilemma this afternoon; made more challenging by the reason he saw me. He needs a report to present to the Court as he is challenging his insurers' decision to reject his income maintenance claim. Intellectually stimulating work, this.

Having finished there, I returned to the apartment and we packed (minimal stuff these days) and headed north to Snells Beach. Serendipitously, we arrived here at the same time as our "gardener". Victoria manages gardens and properties here for people like us who come and go a lot. She is a hard and efficient worker, and does the heavy stuff which I've started to find I can do less of. And she has staff!

She was here to get one of the 'staff' to measure up for a quote on some more work on the platform and planter box and steps down the gully created by a many thousands of years old slip. All good, and I then went down to the beach for a jog and walk and photo opportunity. The very last photo I took is this one, and it appealed instantly to S, as it had to me. 

I crouched down and focussed on the oystercatcher, which has created a slightly impressionist feel to the yachts far out on Kawau Bay

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.