An Apple a Day

Back home in wet Bearsden I had to find some local colour after 4 days in Greece under cloudless skies. I spotted this tempting display of fruit and veg under a canopy outside our local family butcher. He has diversified in recent times. As he topped up the display, he told me that the Mackintosh-Red apples were delivered that very morning from the States and were selling like nobody's business. I've just finished eating one of them, because how could I not be tempted in to buy! (I wasn't at all tempted by the subject of yesterday's blip!)

Recently, a University of Oxford study published in the BMJ journal, found eating an apple a day had almost the same effect as taking a statin by lowering cholesterol. Read the article on the British Heart Foundation website. I'm a great believer in natural ways of staying healthy, so this is music to my ears. The Mac-Red was beautifully crisp and juicy - unlike a statin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.