Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sun through the morning mist

The peaks of the mountains were obscured by a low mist this morning, and by late morning the sun was just beginning to break through the clouds. Until the sun came out it was very cold, but it soon warmed up.

This image was taken from the gondola station midway up the mountain. The village is at 1200m above sea level and the area in which you ski is at 2600m, so the gondola taking you from the village to the top has a midway point where you need to change gondolas as the ascent is too steep for only one gondola.

While the mist was around my photos were very washed out so I processed a few of them in mono. It was difficult choosing one image today, every family member had a different opinion so I have put a few of them here on flickr.

We had a very good day skiing, and as much as I tried to concentrate on improving my technique, my mind was actually on looking at all the wonderful photo opportunities around me. But now my legs are tired and an early night will be a good idea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.