Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Into the blue

Our last day here, and Gavin and I were up very early and on the first gondola up the mountain. We had a good few runs before we stopped for coffee and the slopes were relatively quiet. I love being the first to ski over a freshly groomed piste. We bumped into some friends who told Gavin about an app that tracks your ski mileage and other data, so for the rest of the day we had fun seeing how much we skied.

This week the weather has been exceptional - in the 10 years that we have been coming here we have never experienced such a week of continuous perfect weather, so the image I chose today is representative of the blue and white we have had all week. The colour of the sky is straight out of the camera and has not been enhanced in any way. To be fair, we have had our fair share of horrible weather here so it was about time we had good weather.

It has been a good week in which my skiing has improved enormously. The run from the top of the mountain down to the village, which is about 8km long, used to take me about 40 minutes with all the stops to rest my aching legs. Gavin timed me today and I did it in 21 minutes without stopping at all, which I was very pleased about (the boys probably do it in about 15 minutes!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.