Plus ça change...

By SooB

Detail

It was a detail-oriented day. Mostly cutting the school accounts a dozen different ways to the last centime.

Then the big meeting at school which was disappointing on all levels bar two:

1. I came up with every figure requested quickly (and didn't fluff any of the tricky 70/80/90 numbers...) and even amazed them with my in depth knowledge of our property leases (you can take the girl out of the law firm.... etc);

2. We exacted something approaching a compromise from the Head on communication with parents: we wanted a letter written tomorrow, she wanted no letter at all. The letter will go out on Monday. Approximately...

Otherwise all very depressing. Why are people so happy to be mucked about and not shake things up?

Sigh.

On the plus side, the kids were super well behaved and went to bed (with me not in the house) when told. Despite me panicking when I got back that TallGirl was not in her bed... she was just in CarbBoy's room reading with him. I am so relieved to have self-reliant kids.

Oh, and we ate broccoli

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.