JustSally

By JustSally

Admirals Road

I went into the village to do the weekend shop. It was a bright sunny morning and the village was buzzing, everybody so happy at the feel of spring in the air.

After the shop I drove up to the southern edge of Bookham and went for a short walk to get my blip. There is a distant view from this spot and the skyline of London can be seen in the far distance (not in my blip). The open fields were dotted with white, in the foreground were flocks of seagulls and in the distance a flock of sheep. A notice on the fence warned that these were pregnant ewes and dog owners should keep their dogs under control to save risk of abortion. Across the edge of the field, sunken into the ground and fringed with trees lies this footpath. Anonymous here on the sign post, it is labelled on the map as "Admirals Road". It has the atmosphere of an ancient trackway, but maybe that is just my imagination, wishing it was so. I wonder who the Admiral was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.