Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Feed your habit

A nice lunch with a pal we haven’t seen for a long time. Plenty left over for tea too -yum yum. Got the washing hung out, dried and brought in before we went out to the afternoon movies.

While we were waiting for the bus, I had a wee nosey in a new mini supermarket being built. A very chatty security man, obviously bored, came out to chat to us, and immediately began to regale us with tales of the epidemic of shoplifting.

They’re feeding their habits. They steal cheese, coffee, big bars of chocolate, dodrants.’

‘Pardon?’

‘Dodrants.’


He pointed to his armpit.

‘Deodorants?

'Yes. They sniff 'em.'

I think I’ve got a chocolate habit. And I do like cheese. And coffee. They are all, technically, habits.

Warming to his appreciative audience, he went on to say that they then sell the shoplifted items in pubs, to ‘feed their habit’. He was talking about their drug habits!

He filled in a few minutes while we waited for the bus. In fact, he was much more entertaining than the film - The Invisible Woman. It was sooooo loooooonng. *Yawn* Lots of wobbly camera work too. And someone who coughed - loud, gutteral phlegmy coughing fits - all the way through the film. Just as well they were as far away from me as possible - I may have had to kill them.

This was a rush job as I waited for the bus. I think I need to clean my lens. Back home to have leftover lunch and watch the rugby. And House of Cards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.