Mikey88

By Mikey88

Display

Outside our hotel room was the roof of a link between two buildings and last night I saw pigeons displaying, so I decided to try for a shot of them. I'd opened the window, so I sat in a chair by the window and poked the telephoto lens under the net curtain and waited to see if any arrived this morning.

A few of them did and I got this shot of one of the males, puffing up his neck feathers to impress the females. I think he'd seen the lens moving, or perhaps he'd heard the shutter firing; either way, he's looking questioningly in my direction.

Feral pigeons are quite impressive in their colouration - unfortunately, there are so many of them and they are such a nuisance, that we tend not to notice them - and they do tend to be flying rats!

After getting the pictures and when Mrs Mikey was ready, we went down for breakfast. I do like a full english, and this one was pretty good.

Then we checked out and headed home. It was a good journey, with no hold ups, and we felt good enough to go to the supermarket on the way home and do our weekly shop. We will be pleased we did that tomorrow morning when we don't have to go out.

Anyway, it's really good to be home again - and on the way in, we noticed that one of the daffodils is nearly open and we'd had another two piles of frogspawn. we definitely have more than we did last year, and tomorrow, I'll try and get a shot which shows just how much there is.

Hope you're all having a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.