Cafe .....

..... Culture.

Today I've visited the National Media Museum photography archive with Mecha
We first had a look at some of Don McCullin's photos of Brick Lane from the 1980's and then had a look at some photographs by Graham Smith that Mecha had asked to see. Smith's work is new to me and I was incredibly impressed. His social photography from the 1970's and 80's is some of the best I've seen but he stopped taking photos and has put a moratorium on his work being exhibited so it's very tricky to find his work online although I did find some of his earlier work here.

We had a break for lunch and I took Mecha to my favourite Bradford café ( a proper greasy spoon with big mugs of tea ). Whilst in the café I took two quick photos and have blipped one of them.

After lunch we had a look through some slides of Tony Ray-Jones British eccentric project but ran out of time to look at the box of Chris Killip photos that had been gotten out for us. I'll definitely be paying a return visit to the archives.

After saying goodbye to Mecha who had a long drive back south, I had a quick wander around Bradford and took a few photos of the glamorous Desiree who works in a discount food shop opposite one of the markets. I've added those along with a couple of others from today here.

It's been a fun and very educational day and partly inspired by some of the wonderful photography I saw in the Media Museum archives, today's blip is .....


..... Café culture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.