Credere

By credere

On the Fence(ing in my mind)

Or, a more appropriate title for this post would be: A Comedy of Errors!

Went out for a walk this afternoon, with the express purpose of finding a fence to take a photograph of for today's blip. A fence?! Oh, not just any fence, a beautifully hand crafted, wooden M & S fence!. Something leading off through a field or park, carving the way. Something poignant. Something along the lines of this perhaps?

Ok. I don't usually go out looking for something I've already decided to photograph, but there was something I wanted to say, something that summed up what's been in my head today and this seemed like a good analogy!

Turns out it's a lot harder to find a decent fence shot than you might expect....

At the first area that I found that held some tiny potential, I realised I'd forgotten to charge the battery in my camera. Fail. To the mobile phone then! It's not a bad wee camera in there at least....was that a raindrop? There wasn't a cloud in sight when I left the house!

Oh yes. It was a raindrop alright. And quite a few more followed! I sheltered under a tree until the rain passed, then went wandering off again, not minding too much about being a bit wet - it's only water after all - enjoying the walk, the view and the feeling of wind in my hair. But still not finding any photogenic fences! Just as I was about to give up and go home, I saw a new path and thought, maybe I'll just see where this goes...

Well where it led was nowhere. Except straight into yet another rainstorm! Nice and heavy. Fantastic. Sheltering under a tree wasn't quite keeping me dry this time, and starting to get cold it seemed I may as well just accept it. I was going to get wet so I may as well start walking back home.

Back up to the top of the hill. Utterly soaked now and getting blasted by the wind to boot. Finally the rain eased off again. Being pretty high up meant I could see out for miles and the dark stripes of the rain falling out in the distance. What an amazing view! I feel like I've earned it :) I know, I'll blip that instead! Oh wait. Phone camera only. Doesn't really capture distance shots. *rolls eyes*

But I did capture this one which I quite liked (Oh Lord is that more rain heading this way?!). Spot the (ugly metal) fence in the bottom corners?!

Hmmm. Time to go home now. Back at the bottom of the hill, traipsing through the mud pit. Nice. Somehow I managed to stray off into the wrong path and got totally lost among the wooded areas on my way home!!

*@$^%?<&*!!!!

And what happened while I was trying to re-orient myself? You guessed it. Another rainstorm!

Home, bedraggled and slightly grumpy. Got a nice Black Bream to roast for dinner though :)

The thing that I wanted to say today? Well I think it will have to wait until another blip now!

Next time I'll take a rain-jacket....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.