todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

'Sing' for your supper..

I've had a great night, attending a gig in the East End of Glasgow. The venue was a place called Platform. Part of a community resource in Easterhouse with a library, exhibition space, leisure centre and theatre, I've been keen to pay it a visit for a while.

And I wasn't disappointed. As I arrived at 19.00, the cafe was buzzing, I could see the pool was busy and there were loads of people milling around, coming in and out of the leisure centre. Sights like these make me happy. I love to see a community, going about its business, making good use of its collective space.

Ofcourse, many of us were visitors, along for the evening to see the show.

The Cairn String Quartet are four foxy young women who play their own compositions, arrangements of popular tunes and also accompany guests, adding strings to their songs.

This evenings gig was a fundraiser as they hope to travel to Austin, Texas for the South by Southwest Festival. They performed for three hours, playing their own stuff and welcoming a range of talented, vibrant Scottish musicians to the stage.

They even raffled the chance to have the Quartet play in your venue of choice - your front room if you wanted!

The whole evening was a pleasure to experience. The wealth of creativity on my doorstep is a real gift. And one that I cherish ❤️

I hope they get the chance to play to a wider audience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.