The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Calstone

When I went out looking for a blip on Tuesday I took the road to Calstone where I knew there were some horses, including an Appaloosa pony that I have blipped before. Sometimes they are in their shed out of sight, or out of view at the far end of their paddock, but on this occasion I had to stop as two were at the gate, with the third gazing over the wall beside the gate. I got a number of pictures of all three horses. In the past they have been rather cautious and aloof, but on this occasion they seemed keen for attention and were happy to be handled.

I was rather struck, though, by the light on the landscape just beyond, and so I have chosen this shot that includes the Lansdowne Monument that I have blipped and written about before (and indeed is just visible from my cottage), even though it contains no animals. Actually, if one looks closely, there are some sheep grazing on the slopes of the Cherhill Downs in the distance.

I know some blippers would have cloned out the telegraph wires, but I prefer to show scenery as it is. I took some pictures that didn't include them, but they also cropped out the sky that I wanted to include. I could only have achieved both by venturing illegally into the field, and in any case, I think the wires are a part of the scene.

L.
22.2.2014

Blip #1187
Consecutive Blip #049
Day #1426

Alternatives:
Two Horses
Third Horse

Lens: Pentax 17-70mm

Lansdowne Monument series


Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Fairport Convention - Bird On A Wire (recorded 2 December 1968)
This Leonard Cohen cover was recorded for the Stuart Henry Show on Radio One.

One year ago: Naish Hill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.