You learn something new....

I was watching some if TED talks whilst sewing this afternoon. One of the talks was by the person who invented reCAPTCHA... The annoying bit on websites where you type two random words to prove that you're human... What I never knew before was that this technology is helping to digitise books... Old books that have been scanned but have words that can't be translated with text recognition, are used for the reCAPTCHA test, and as a result the unrecognised words are being transcribed, one at a time by millions of people... They estimate that around 200 million are solved everyday... So I'm looking at this in a new light. In addition the random word generation sometimes comes up with comedic pairings, and these have started off a catch phrase style art trend... Where people illustrate the phrase on the screen... Such as this one of Stoned Founders...

I'm possibly writing something that everyone has known about for ages... But for me, I learnt it new today ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.