Daily Wild

By emyjane

Torridge in-depth

Best viewed *larger*

Once home to the fictional Tarka the Otter written by Henry Williamson, now home to countless wild otters making their most wondrous return after so long - the water is fresh, it's full of fish, there are no longer otter hounds to hunt & slay them, they're safe now... well, for the time being anyway, although I have read reports that fishermen want a cull as they're taking *their* fish - sorry guys, but, gawd, I'm just sorry, you mindless buffoons! (& I'm being nice).

It is the second fastest flowing river in the country & some respects the wildest. It's a beautiful river, I've spent so many happy hours wondering along it's banks, today we saw two kingfishers fly across it's waters & I have in fact seen otters too! It's is approx 27.5 miles in length & I'd like to explore every mile, but like many rivers, it flows through private land!

And...

Always there

So yes that was our almost 3 hour walk today :) Even after 2 hours at the gym before & I plucked up my courage & went on the scales at the gym - haven't been on them since last September, & don't forget there's been Xmas in the way, nights off, flu, illnesses - yet I've managed to lose 2 stone! Well just over 2 stone anyhow! Just another 2 stone to go - that's 12.7Kg overall... Brill! :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.