WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

I went to the circus

... and all I blipped was this blossom. This evening we went to see Soritat, a joint performance by La Mal Coiffée and five female acrobats/dancers. La Mal Coiffée are a local group of five (or six) women who sing polyphonie occitane. Here's a sample -- Lo gat.

They provided a musical accompaniment/narrative to five incredibly talented acrobats -- the visual spectacle was compelling, but sadly no photos were allowed, and even if they had been, I wouldn't have been able to take any decent ones from where I was sitting. It was a full house, and the audience was spellbound by the beautiful harmony of music and movement, and the power (physical and artistic) of ten women. I was particularly impressed by a tightrope dance in high heels -- she made the fil-de-feriste we saw in the summer seem like a rank amateur. The singing was more edgy and adventurous than usual too -- a beautifully complementary performance.

So, as I say, you'll have to make do with sunlit blossom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.