a town called E.

By Eej

Cold Bean

It's likely I took better photos than this one today, but it's so rare I get photos with people in them that I could never pass up the opportunity of a Chicago city/people scape.

Things that happened today:
We left the house on time.
The GPS lady decided she wanted us to go see the Fed-Ex facility at South Bend Airport - when all we wanted was the parking lot close to the train station. We won, but with mere minutes to spare and thankful for my height (so I could see which direction to run in) and my wits (so I could figure out that the spot with what looked like the top of a train was the way to run)
Chicago is HELLA cold in February so we didn't get to wander a whole lot but since the train station is opposite Millennium Park ... 'ello Bean!
The hotel was so new (it opened on Feb. 1st) that our room smelled like no hotel room I've ever had the pleasure of smelling. I was kind enough to tell the valet who accompanied us in the lift that the luggage he was taking to our room wasn't ours - seeing how we didn't have any luggage except a backpack. Oooops.
We warmed up for a bit and headed to the church where (my fiancé) Josh Ritter would be playing. I helped a blind man cross the street, as one does - and then we waited in line for 40 minutes so we got frost bite again. Ossum.
I brought my camera but as soon as the doors opened I knew I was screwed; the guys handling things were pros, and would no doubt check bags. And they did. No photography allowed, but I didn't have to leave the camera with them or anything, so that was nice.
The Ritter was so good. So, so good. So many feels, I was exhausted by the end. And he's such a bright and shining being when he's on stage - my cheeks were hurting from smiling all night. I didn't know much about Gregory Alan Isakov, who opened, but was converted into fanhood by the end of their set. Also, if there could be a way to serve me lima beans with the sounds of cello and violin, I would probably eat them. Considering how much I hate lime beans, that's saying something.
We met someone who used to live in Paw Paw during the show. What are the odds of that? Of course, the Beloved proudly wearing his Paw Paw Brewing hoodie made identifying us real easy :)

It was unfortunate that the lounge on the 4th floor already appears to be the most happening place in town - and we are no longer the most happening people. The lift took us up and down with a whole bunch of them because it decided it hated us despite me being so nice the whole day.

We have a king size bed. I may never find the Beloved again.


backBlip 2/22

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.