Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Going Out On Top

I think my face was getting ready to shatter right about now because I was so happy.

It was the end to the only life I have known in Arizona - as a the president of the Democratic Women in Green Valley.  I had known this exact date was coming since the Executive Board (L to R: Rosa, Karen, Alma, Diana, me, Denise, Kay, Jo Ann) made the decision to dissolve on November 19, 2013.  That was the day I decided I could no longer continue.

Today was wonderful.  It was less about the organization, which was always all of our intents, and more about me...what remarkable things I did  and the incredible leader I was (all according to them, of course).

There was a gift from my Board.  A set of National Geographic Photography DVD Tutorials and guide book.  It looks great.

Our US Congressman, Ron Barber (he succeeded Gabrielle Giffords), presented me with a framed, signed letter in honor of the contributions I have made to the community.  Then there was this toast.  To the organization...and again to my remarkable leadership! And, lastly, from the Congressman, a bouquet of flowers.

If this all wasn't enough to go to my head, then the most well respected women who has served in state government,  Sen. Paula Aboud, came all the way from Tucson, sick, just so she could give a speech about how I got the Democratic women from the Green Valley area all fired up and ready for ACTION for the past six years.

There was more...but I really need to stop or my head will explode.  

I've already seen my picture and read the article in the online version of the local paper that will be published on Sunday.  How did I know it was there?  My therapist emailed me.  She saw it on the front page on her AOL News under local news.  Seriously.  It's gotten out of hand.

But just try to wipe that grin off of my face.  I double-dog dare you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.