0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"What are you hoping to do in the future?"
"I love the work of Rob Ryan. Have you heard of him? He makes paper cuttings, really intricate work. I'd really like to do something with that."



Today was the last day of the Digital Zoo exhibition in the Trinity centre. I had come across it previously in my walks round the city but had yet found time to take a look.

It was while I was queuing to go into one of the interactive installations, a large ominous black box, that I came across Zara here. She was manning this particular piece of digital art.

I really liked her dock martins, socks and trouser combo and decided to make use of my time in the queue and asked her for a portrait. Thankfully, there was another colleague nearby to take over while I took her aside and got her to stand in one of the walkways to take her portrait.

Afterwards, Zara told me she had finished her studies and was doing some odd bits here and there, like helping out at this exhibition, but her ambition and goal was to go into papercutting. An art I was not familiar with but it seems quite old, with origins in China.

Eventually, I was called into the black box and got to see a brilliant tech-driven animation by the name of Animacules. I don't think I can describe it well enough, so here's a link which may interest those who want to know.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.