Observatory

By trimbolim

F minor 6th

Here you have me playing in the pit orchestra for a Sunday matinee production of Spamalot. The theater is Toby's in Columbia, Maryland which is a bit of a hike from my home in Virginia but I've been joining them about twice a week through their three month run.

In this pic I'm recalling the fingering for an Fmin6 chord which is a bit unusual to include in a banjo part so I had to review before the show. It's a grainy photo but it's the most interesting subject that I caught with my phone today. Until I figure out a better way to take photos like so many great ones here on blip, I'll be sharing unspectacular shots that mostly conjure bits of narrative that are interesting to share.

On this show I play a Stratocaster, an Ibanez archtop, and my trusty Deering tenor banjo (tuned in 5ths-- old school style.) The show's score is typically fast moving and frequently changes styles as modern musicals do, but this one is high satire so it's even more schizophrenic than most: I have a jugband style banjo groove that morphs into a ragtime feel, a Vegas style jazz ballad, and an REO Speedwagon style screaming guitar solo all within the first act. It's very challenging and not boring for a moment.

Even though it kept me from taking a nice long bike ride in the unseasonably warm weather today, and it kept me away from my family for five hours, it was probably worth it. I was able to get home in time to help my youngest work on riding without training wheels. Hopefully I'll have a blip with that progress soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.