SimonC

By SimonC

Cultural Wander part 2

a big thumbs up to smithski for the ideas for today.

went to see soupcon at Bolton today and then onto Rochdale and look at the Art on the Edge at the Touchstone.

Its been interesting seeing these towns as well, I have to confess I have never to my knowledge been to either. Good to see the venues and diverse work in them, both of us would have liked to have seen a bit more of J9's work :-)

I find the townscapes quite intriguing mainly for the unsettling nature of having tower blocks in mill towns, also the buildings whilst familiar, weren't. we have mill towns here in Derbyshire but I think it was the Das Unheimliche aspect* to it. Talking of which I found a painting at Touchstone I had not seen before that reflected on that experience so it was a good day out.

a jolly nice weekend and one we rarely get the time to do together lately.

* formed a large part of my reading in Visual Culture and Art History for several months

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.