The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Catkins

The signs of Spring are everywhere, the snowdrops are already starting to brown and shrivel while the tete a tete daffodils in the garden are beginning to unfurl. The hazel catkins have been flowering for weeks and will surely not last much longer. Song thrushes have joined the chorus of robins and blackbirds, while there are flights of cronking ravens over Arnside Knott, and at lunchtime I counted 9 in the air together.

I was tired after the two days of driving and one of family celebration, so I stayed at home to work with Gus lying at my feet. The warm, sunny weather arrived mid-morning, and Gus wanted to be outside. He kept nudging my hand, and sitting with his head on my leg trying to catch my eye with his soulful look. In the end I cracked and took him out at 1230. The performance was repeated in the afternoon from 4 pm, but I hung on till 5 pm and took him for a walk along the estuary. He was happy to be home.

I have backblipped a photo from Saturday here.

My apologies that comments are thin, and blipping will be intermittent over the next couple of weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.