Mikey88

By Mikey88

Raindrops on Daffodils

One of the things I really like about our house is the big skies we get through the kitchen window. I glanced out this morning and saw some lovely braided clouds away on the horizon, with some coloured cumulus behind them. I put the telephoto on and took some shots, thinking that it would make a good blip.

Then, taking the recycling out, I noticed the daffodils just outside the back door. One had blown over during the night, but the rest were still upright. Then I noticed the raindrops on the flowers, so on went the macro lens and in the end, this was the shot I chose to blip because I liked the way light shone through the droplets.

It was just as well I took these shots, as I didn't get much chance for photography for the rest of the day. I spent the morning recycling and doing some cleaning and then in the afternoon took the mother-in-law for her monthly trip to the hospital to check her eyes.

There was good news this month - the wet macular degeneration has dried up and her eyes are both stable now - and while her eyesight won't get any better, it won't get any worse and she also won't need any injections for the moment. She has another checkup next month, so fingers crossed, her eyes will remain stable.

The day has finished with the wind booming round the house again and rain lashing against the windows. With that combination, we could lose some of the daffodils by the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.