CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Show me the way to go home

This is the road about 50 metres from our house. As you can see the road is closed (for roadworks).
This young lady in her Mini (I know it's a young lady as I was very near to her when she stopped her car, undecided as to what to do) took the plunge and drove around the barrier (she may of course have been going somewhere further on in the village and not on the road being "worked").
Basically the "Diversion" sign is pointing to the driveway of our local Memorial Hall - the car park may take about 50 cars, but surely they can't all drive round and round the car park ad infinitum?
The other "niggle" is that although they have closed the road - which necessitated a detour of an additional 2 miles for me this morning going to work (and hundreds of other people I may add), another 2 miles at lunchtime when I had to pop back home, again plus 2 miles returning to work, and then the last extra 2 miles coming home tonight (are you keeping up? That's 8 extra miles in total - plus the time it took to drive them) there appears to be no sign of any road works.
I spoke to someone earlier this evening that had come from the other direction, towards us, and he'd driven around the barrier at the other end - only to find no road works, no digging, no anything.
Just two signs that have been there since about 8 a.m.
You may think I sound disgruntled.
Me?
I'm always gruntled, never "dis".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.