New Year, New Life

By jenpedler

Eyeing up the tube

Goodge Street station, Northern Line.

I often take photos in convex mirrors. I like the effect; a sort of paupers fish-eye.

This is where I get off the tube most days on the way to work. The station was opened in 1907 and originally called Tottenham Court Road. The name was changed to Goodge Street a year later when an interchange was built between the Northern and Central Lines at the current TCR station - where it's all change again at the moment with the new Crossrail development. It's also one of the few tube stations that still relies on lifts rather than escalators to take passengers up to street level.

The history of the London Underground is fascinating and I love the way each station has a different character. I read the other day that there are moves to make the system more 'coherent'. I hope this doesn't mean the stations will all become bland and boring.

On the firefly platform on sunny Goodge Street
Violent hash-smoker shook a chocolate machine
Involved in an eating scene

Donovan, Sunny Goodge Street
(I think the chocolate machines are a thing of the past...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.