acr83

By acr83

What does winning look like?

I work for the biggest real estate company in New Zealand. Today we had a great guest speaker at our weekly training session. It was our CEO. He flew down from auckland just to speak with out team. He did a session on attitude and it was just amazing.
He gave us a couple of tasks when we went away and he estimated that 80% of us would plan on doing it and about 5% actually would. He also estimated that while we were sitting there we all thought we were the 5%. Fair enough. We were all pretty pumped when we left.
So I'm here to make sure I am the 5% and put it down where I can't take it back.

Task one: what does winning look like to you?
It's certainly not big stacks of money as initially pops to mind. For me this year it's a bit different to what I might have imagined. My goals are no longer driven by career development (for the moment). They are driven by making sure we have everything we need to raise a child. So to me, winning is coming home from work every day at a reasonable hour and being able to say that my day was a good one. In a nutshell, happiness and contentment.
At the start of the financial year I made my dream board with all my big goals if I made it big. It hasn't happened yet but I'm definitely still motivated by this and have it above my desk at work. One of the things I will need to cross off already or put off for another year. That is the company conference. I won't be allowed to fly by May when it is held and don't like the idea of a drive from christchurch to auckland so will definitely be giving it a miss.

Task two: the kaizen principle.
This is a Japanese idea that improvement is not a giant step or a eureka moment, but something that is contributed to every day by a little something you do. Our challenge was to record our kaizen activity every day for 30 days.
Day 1: easy. Simply going to the training session and coming away with such a great motivated feeling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.